The 2022 Grand National Preview

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Blog

The third and final feature race of the Aintree festival is the Crabbies Grand National steeplechase. The Grand National is an annual horse racing event watched by millions globally, it’s a horse racing event that has a magical effect on all spectators that have the pleasure of watching it. The National was first run in 1839 as part of the National Hunt chase season in England and has been the main feature race of the Aintree festival for many years.

Looking to have a bet on this year’s race? Then check out our guide to the best betting apps here.

The Grand National always provides excitement for spectators, whether you’re at home watching it, or at Aintree watching the race live, as soon as that tape is released and the horses begin galloping that is when the excitement and the adrenalin start to kick in. Hundreds of millions of people will once again have their eyes fixated on this magical race this year, which we think just shows why there is such a magical feeling about this race and why over 600 million people globally tuned in to watch the Crabbies Grand National in 2022.

Grand National – Our Guide

The Grand National always takes place at Aintree racecourse during the Aintree festival, normally in the first week of April every year. The National is also a big part of the National Hunt chase season in England too. To gain entry into the Crabbies Grand National chase, there are a couple of requirements, the horse needs to be 7Yrs old or above, rated at 120+ by the British Horseracing Authority, must have placed in a recognised chase with a distance in excess of 3 miles long and be within the maximum weight restriction of 11st 10lbs.

Past Winners

There have been many winners of the Grand National steeplechase, as you would expect from a race that has been going for 177 years, none more memorable than the legendary ‘Red Rum’ who won the Grand National 3 times. Image of Red Rum below.

We have provided you with a list of the past 6 winners of this spectacular race, including the 2016 winner ‘Rule The World’, who you can also see an image of above.

If you take a look below you will see the winners list.

  • 2016: Rule The World
  • 2015: Many Clouds
  • 2014: Pineau de Re
  • 2013: Auroras Encore
  • 2012: Neptune Collonges
  • 2011: Ballabriggs

Grand National Racecourse App

If you are planning on visiting the Aintree racecourse, we would highly recommend that you check out our Aintree Racecourse guide. It has lots of interesting information on the racecourse and about the Grand National festival too.